Saya's paint work and customs

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Saya

Super Freak
Reaction score
UPDATED ON PAGE 17

This is my very first try at painting a HS. This is one of Chris's sculpts of Arnold. I know my paint is rough but its my first try. This is acrylic paint (no pastels) tried shading with multiple layers and washes. Used "future floor" for the eyes and lips. The eyes were the hardest to do of the entire thing. Well, any advice is welcome. :)

IMG_0303-1.jpg

thanks for looking.

Okay, so here is another HS I am working on. I thought that It would be fun to show you pictures of my HS in the stages of paint. This one is a combination of pastels and acrylics. I think with this 2nd HS I have found what I like best (pastels!) Love to hear what you think. :)

006.jpg

007.jpg

008.jpg

009.jpg

I still have more to do. I'll post more as I get it done. Thx for looking.
so here is my latest pic. the eyes are still the hardest for me. still a work in progress...
001.jpg

So, here is the final product on my second HS. Still not happy with the eyes. But if I keep messing with them I'm afraid I'm gonna make them worse. Hopefully my next HS will be better.
001-1-1.jpg

003-1-1.jpg

Thx for all your advice and comments, they are very helpfull and welcome. (There is an update on page 2)

Last edited:
Great first try Saya! I'm still a novice at the headsculpt paint too, and the eyes kill me every time! Better than my first attempt! Keep it up!

Definitely looking good with those pastels!

If you are actually going to be using that head in a custom however and it's not just for practice, you really ought to fill in those airholes in the cast first with putty from now on before you start putting all your hard work into painting as a the first step. Just FYI. :D
Very nice start though! Keep it up! :chew:chew
-Rick :)