Lead in paint from China?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I work in the glassware printing industry. A few years back we switched to lead free paints, due to new laws and the FDA, anyway I digress....The leaded paints were really good to work with, they were very shiny, glossy and showed amazing detail. The lead free paints don't hold details as well, they are dull, matte and just plain bad, especially printing small text. If I had to guess the paints used by the toy industry( and now we know) has some lead in them. Especially the Reds and purples , yellows and blues. Just my two cents. Unless your gonna lick or eat your Darth Maul's head for breakfast, I wouldn't worry about it. :rotfl

On a side note Massachusetts and California have the toughest laws regarding Lead paint.

I asked the question because American companies that use Chinese production facilities these days don't always seem to know what's going on over there. I'm sure Sideshow wouldn't request it. Fisher-Price didn't request lead paint, and Menu Foods didn't ask for melamine in their pet food.

Unless your gonna lick or eat your Darth Maul's head for breakfast, I wouldn't worry about it. :rotfl
QUOTE]

Its not his head I'm worried about, but his lightsaber, since I remember Pix posted a pic of himself with Maul's saber in his mouth :lol

I don't see how it really matters with these collectibles since we (I hope) are smart enough to not want to put them in our mouths. The Fisher-Price stuff is understandable since all little kids want to put everything in their mouths (keeping them away from the collectibles should be obvious, even if they don't have lead).

Well, it seems the consensus is most of us would rather not know, because we don't think it matters. Nevermind, Sideshow. I'll just buy a kit and test mine myself.:cool: