Hot Toys or NECA?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Which is better, Hot Toys or Neca?

• Hot Toys

Votes: 164 90.6%
  • Neca

Votes: 17 9.4%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandman

Freakzoid
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to collecting these types of figures(mostly of my collection is statues), so which is the better company to collect? Money isn't really a problem and I want to get the best quality for my collection. Hot Toys and Neca are the main company's I'm interested in because of their Terminator, Alien and Predator lines. Who has the better reputation for quality and value retention? Thanks in advance.

Hot Toys wins I think for value retention and overall quality. Neca makes some pretty cool figures at a cheap prices, though.

Oh dear, I predict a riot in this thread.

If money is no issue, Hot Toys for quality and value retention. Their figures additionally will be more impressive to people viewing your collection.

But there are good and solid arguments in favour of NECA where it concerns accuracy to source material. There are many who favour this above all else.

If money is not an object, I'd say collect both.
You can't really compare both lines, as they have very different philosophies, strengths and weaknesses.
Hot Toys makes (mostly -and I say "mostly" because lately they have begun to sacrifice articulation for aesthetics; just take a look at the Arnold T-800 body, Wolverine body or the new preds from Predators) highly articulated, high-end figures that come with multiple accessories and real clothing.
NECA makes more conventional entry level "action figures" that are completely made of plastic (no cloth items or any other materials) and their focus is usually on the accuracy of the sculpt. Their figures have always been targeted at the 7" crowd with occasional 12" and 18" releases.