Newbie - How do I change the hands?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ListerOfSmeg

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
Hi guys, newbie here.

Bought my first proper figure yesterday - Hot Toys T-800 1/6th scale. Arnie looks the business stood next to my monitor. :clap

I wanted to give him the shotgun, so I managed to pull the stock fist off, but Arnie now has a hole in his forearm which seems to want a peg. The gun hand doesn't have a peg attached. There are two spare peg thingies in the box, but they appear to be at a different angle to the ones attached to his fists. I am assuming these are for poses where you need the hand at a more acute angle to the wrist.

Anyway, I'm assuming I need to extract the straight peg/sphere from the fist that I've removed, and wop it in the gun hand. Thing is I'm petrified of breaking it. The peg is really the only bit you can get purchase on to pull, and I was applying scary amounts of pressure without it budging. Is there some technique to getting these out? Are they supposed to come out?

While I'm on, can someone explain the relationship between Hot Toys and Sideshow? Many retailers seem to use the terms synonymously, or at least did with this T-800 figure. Are Sideshow the exclusive distributor or a parent company or something?

Many thanks
Lister

Try heating the parts with a blow dryer on hot if you are afraid of breaking stuff. It will also make it easier to pull stuff a part.

The spare pegs are exactly the same ones as the ones already in the hands. They are there in case you break the first ones.

Sideshow is a distributor of Hot Toys product. Also, Hot Toys has collaborated in the design of the Sideshow Star Wars armored figures.

Oh.... and welcome to the club!