New to 1/6th Should I buy any Sideshow Star Wars 1/6 figures or wait for hot toys?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maximus83

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to 1/6th collecting and will be getting the hot toys Han and Chewie, as I want to create a display with the core characters from the original trilogy (R2, Leia, Luke, Darth Vader, C3P0, Yoda, Obi Wan, Lando, Bobba) .

Should I wait for all the Hot toys releases for these classic Star Wars characters now they have the license or do you think I will be waiting a long time for some of the characters I've listed above, and should get some of the Sideshow releases? Are any of them Hot Toys quality and would you recommend?

I noticed there is a 1/6th RT-D2 coming out by sideshow, worth getting? or do you think Hot toys will be bringing one out in the near future?

Last edited:
Re: New to 1/6th Should I buy any Sideshow Star Wars 1/6 figures or wiat for hot toys

SSC has always done a mostly fantastic on their armored figures. Less than decent on the human ones. Go for armored with SSC, save the humans to HT

Last edited:
i think it's safe to assume most OT humans/heroes will be releases in the next couple years by Hot Toys. ANH Han (and Chewy) are annouced, Luke, Leia and Ben can't be far behind. Vader and possibly Stormtrooper are also to be expected shortly.

If you can't wait for Hot Toys and want to spend your money right now, I'd advise to focus on recent armored (Boba Fett, Snowtrooper...), aliens (Yoda, Bossk, Greedo...) and droids (3PO, R2...).