j. Simons Custom Statue and Bust painting Fun

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Josh-A-Tron

Super Freak
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to custom work on statues but I've been illustrating and designing a long time. Here's a peek at my current project, a Zombie bust from Quarantine Studios WIP

FranklinZombieWIP1.jpg

I like the blood splattered skulls on Franklin looking forward to seeing Pigo.I think You should try putting real hair on Pigo he'd be SicK! :cool:

Looking good so far like the colors on Pigo. Hope you don't' mind me asking but how did you do the texturing on him.

Looking good so far like the colors on Pigo. Hope you don't' mind me asking but how did you do the texturing on him.
The skin texturing was one layer of air brushed midnight blue, then sporadic sections of air brushed sky blue and finally using a q-tip with small amounts of white paint and dabbing the head with it, in some sections i did it twice so that the white faded in and out and the blues showed through more in some spots and less or not at all in others.

Quick update on Pigo, not a crazy amount done as I want to make sure all the details are correct on him. He's definitely more challenging than the last paint up but very fun. I was looking forward to working on him over the long weekend but my work lamp burnt out and since it uses specialty bulbs I have to wait for the order to come in.

Pigo update.jpg

I do believe once he's done I may open myself up to out side work from forum members, if so I'll post in the services area and do custom painting/touch ups and minor repairs in between personal projects.

Thanks for the info,Pigo Looks like he came out great. Say I hope you don't' mind but what kind of primer do you use,it looks nice and smooth.