EX vs non-EX???

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shorty2434

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
I'm very new to this whole figure collecting thing. I am interested in buying at least 1 figure, but I have been checking out other threads here, and I keep seeing people using the words "EX" or "exclusive". What exactly does that mean? So if I decide to buy a figure from a local shop, I gather it wouldn't be exclusive?

What I'm getting at is, what makes it exclusive? Is there something that would come with the figure? Are there extras if you buy direct from SSC? Or is it just knowing you bought it direct, and not from a store?

Or am I totally misunderstanding what EX means?

EX's basically always come with something extra. Be it a COH (Change out Head), change out weapons, altered costume, base or paint job, extra accessories or even a fine art print, etc.

In order to get an EX, you must order from Sideshow directly. Plus the ES (Edition size) for an EX is always smaller than the ES of the Reg version. (There may be an instance or two where that last part might be different)

Also EX's usually always retain their value whereas Regulars can usually be had for cheaper later on.

In order to get an EX, you must order from Sideshow directly.

Actually that depends on the product and where you're located. For instance, if you're talking about Hot Toys, ALL the exclusives SSC sells from HT are also available in Hong Kong (first) through Toy Hunters. Which is a physical store.

Actually that depends on the product and where you're located. For instance, if you're talking about Hot Toys, ALL the exclusives SSC sells from HT are also available in Hong Kong (first) through Toy Hunters. Which is a physical store.

You are correct. To rephrase,

... To get SSC Ex's one must order directly with SSC