different company qualities

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abananafarmer

Super Freak
Reaction score
im pretty new to collecting. so far iv collected a couple from sideshow and the medusa from arh.

I have looked at hot toys, but they feel very much like toys and not so much collectables ? Am i wrong ?

Iv also seen some very high quality work come from customs.

I would like to know what everyone thinks in regards to company qualities and who i should look at for collecting. :dunno

Are there other companies producing high quality work ?

I'd say that Hot Toys figures "feel" very light and toyish, but they look Amazing.

Since I just pose them and display them, I am not too concerned with the way they feel.

If you think about it, the lack of weight to their figures is a blessing in disguise, as The figures are already too expensive, a heavier figure would just add to the shipping cost.

Any action figure is a toy strictly speaking but when they look as good as most HT figures, don't let that stop you.

Are they collectables? Increasingly not so in the sense of something that appreciates in value what with repetition of the same characters again and again and rereleases etc But theres other definitions of collectable under which they still fall.

Personally I can only speak about action figures as thats all I collect. Enterbay are on the up as HT main rival.

Buy stuff and live with it for a while and you'll work out what is best for you. For example rather than listen to all the haters banging on about how crap medicom stuff is, I bought some myself and found out first hand how crap they really are.