Custom figures?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeatleJohn

Super Freak
Reaction score
Hi im new to figure collecting and the forum also. Im interested in a few custom figures that are being made on here and i was just wondering are they worth anything compared to the Hot Toys or Enterbay ect? Im not into this for making money or anything i just plan on collecting figures that i love and want to display. It doesnt matter to me either way i was just curious if these custom figures made available through here have any value in the long term?

Some customs cost stupid money and fetch stupid money.

How much they appreciate in value is hit and miss depending on the figure in question and what people are looking out for years later - pretty much the same deal when buying Hot Toys and Enterbay figures.

It really depends the value YOU see in them and what they're worth in your eyes. Obviously, in terms of quality, some items, like rainman or iminime works, are much better than hot toys, but limited in quantity and thus price is higher.

Licensed figures can retain value depending on how many were made. The production numbers are known and a fairly accurate determination of value can be determined. Custom figures are a lot more sketchy. They are unlicensed so often actual production numbers are unknown and/or lied about. A figure can be in high demand, but if another customizer does a higher quality version the original can decrease in value. It boils down to the value only being measured by what you are willing to buy or sell for. Buy what you like. Flipping is a tricky business and those who are successful at it aren't usually willing to share thier secrets to doing it successfully.

Great thanks for the answers guys. Its pretty much what i thought. I love some of the customs on here. They look amazing.