Hello from UK

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimbits76

Freaked Out
Reaction score
Hi guys

My name is Jim, I'm from East Anglia UK.

I am pretty new to the world of 1/6 figures however; I have long been a collector of comic books and comic art.

My introduction to the world of 1/6 figures was mainly through my son. My little boy loves Iron Man and back in 2012 when he was 4 years old we discoved he has a Pilocytic Astrocytoma brain tumour in an inoperable position. During his treatments he had seen me on various collectors websites and had always taken a huge interest in the Hot Toys Iron Man figures....we would never have spent that kind of money on a collectable figure for a child so we used to tell him they were special toys for grown ups.

That Christmas as a throwaway gesture I applied to Sideshow for a Christmas wish on his behalf and to my surprise Sideshow granted it with a Iron Man MKII Armour Unleashed figure which incredibly was his favourite suit (he called it the War Machine suit without the guns). We had already purchased him a Kotobukiya Iron Man Avengers statue so his Christmas that year was covered regarding all things Iron Man. Both sit in the Detolf in the dining room and are his pride and joy.

His father meanwhile had now caught the bug. On the night in February 2012 when we discovered he had his tumour and we were sat in the hospital I had sent a few messages out regarding the news and how heartbroken we were. In the small hours of the morning I received an image to my phone and a quote from a friend in America. The Image was an Alex Ross image of Superman and the quote was from Christopher Reeve concerning hope. During his treatment my son received a painting from the young daughter of another friend in America, the painting was a image of Superman and it was signed by the little girl; her name Hope.