What paint to use to repair? Also, what to use for sculpt repairing?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timelordscience

Super Freak
Reaction score
2 part question. :'D
Bear with me; I'm somewhat new at fixing things (new to polystone, anyways).
Hopefully this alright to post here (wasn't sure if it was just limited to making custom items/hot toys stuff)

1) Best paint to use for fixing paint flaking off?
Visual aid: https://i41.tinypic.com/a57p55.jpg

2) I've been told to use ApoxieSculpt to help repair the gaps/missing pieces but I wanted to see what other people have been using before ordering it (or even if that's the correct thing to use).

I need to sculpt a thumb & a strand of hair that broke and is completely gone. I also need to fill a gap that happened after I re-attached the head to the body and cover-up the crack from the repair.

Visual aid:
a) https://i40.tinypic.com/ehnbbk.jpg
b) https://i41.tinypic.com/1zbwebd.jpg
c) https://i44.tinypic.com/2r3xi5w.jpg

Last edited:
I've repaired a few polystone statues (green lantern, supernatural, ame-comi poison ivy, ect)
As far as Apoxie clays, Magicsculpt from the morezmore shop on ebay is lovely to use. It smooths onto the statue surface quite nicely, blends well with a bit of water.

As far as the paint flakes, a bit of gentle sanding to remove the excess chips and either a flat Tamiya acrylic paint or even an acrylic craft paint would be fine, just hit the painted area with a shot of spray when you're done to match the surface gloss of the rest of the figure. (Dullcoat? She looks like her gloves are matte in the photos...)