what 3d printer should I get

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hotcus6

Super Freak
Reaction score
Hello,Im new to this hobby, about 6 months, and since then I have decided to start sculpting and tailoring, but I have found out that the Nad made sculpt is losing ground fast, and I want to do this at the best level possible so I have decided to try 3d printer and sculpting.

Now I'm asking to see what material should I get the printer use, wax,plastic, or resin. I think resin would be best but I'm not positive.

Also what brand of printer.

So if anyone can help me figure out what printer to buy that will help me produce the best sculpts and accessories iwould be forever in their debt.

I'm also trying to hear people own experiences with 3dsculpting programs (digital sculpting)

Thanks ND I hope to hear from you soon

It depends on the quality of the prints that you want. There's two types of printers you could get, FDM or SLA.

FDM Printers (Fused deposition modeling) is the type that has a spool of filament that is used to layer the material. It's very cheap to print because of the material and there are lots of materials available. It's the most common type of printer but it's also got the lowest quality, since there's some issues inherent with the concept that makes it difficult to get really great quality out of it. Some FDM printers can use multiple materials in a single print which means you could do some different colors, or you could use a second material as a support structure (PVA is a material that you can print with that dissolves in water). Most FDM printers today can print down to 100 micron layers, which is about the thickness of a sheet of paper. There's also some that have very large build volumes for large objects.