Shipping & Duty cost to Canada?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shorty2434

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
I am new to figure collecting, so I don't know much about it. I am very interested in buying the 1:6 Loki figure from Avengers (as well as some others), but I am worried that the cost of shipping and duty will drive up the price. The figure itself is $220, but I'm worried that the shipping costs, and what customs will charge me will nearly double the price.

Is there an estimate as to how much I could possibly pay, to have it shipped to Ontario, Canada, and the duty charges I could expect? Or is there anyone here who has ordered these figures and lives in Canada and can give me some numbers?

Shipping should be $25. At the door you'll be charged your provinces taxes and handling fee of $10. Fedex usually doesn't charge me duties but I recently had a statue have duty charges on it.

Do you mind me asking, how much was the duty they charged? And how much were your previous transactions? By my calculations, my total would come to around $288, based on the numbers you gave ($220 figure + $25 + $10 + 13% tax). This would be my first figure purchase.

You live in Ontario? There is a place in Markham, Ontario that sells Hot Toys figures called Toy Square. I get my figures from there. Of course, I was charged the 13 percent tax. You wouldn't have to worry about duty and extra charges though since you are already within Ontario.

I was told that creating a fed-ex account and linking it to your Sideshow accounts helps with speed and keeping costs down. Like you I just got into the hobby and haven't ordered anything that's actually shipped yet. I did posts questions like this when I first joined the site a few weeks ago and that's what I was told.