Opinions on 1/6 Scale Darth Vader Figures

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

codysk

Freakzoid
Reaction score
Hello fellow collectors! I'm new the the collection craze and currently have 7 figures. I'm looking to get one of the Darth Vader 1/6 scale figures. Just wanted opinions of what people feel will be the better figure, HT Darth Vader from A New Hope or SS Darth Vader from ROTJ??? Like I said, I'm new to collecting so I haven't learned quite yet if SS or HT provide the better 1/6 scale figure? I'm sure it's a matter of opinion so I'd like to get some other collectors' input. Thanks!

HT Darth Vader from A New Hope. All around better figure and an awesome helmet that looks mostly accurate. In general, Hot Toys will have the better figure in most cases. Especially with Star Wars as the main characters were done by Sideshow awhile back when quality standards were different. The ROTJ Vader is a reissue with a could things changed.

I have both figures and I think the my favorite is the new HT ANH Vader, I like Sideshow's Vader but the scale is not right, is too tall.

In before the sideshow sucks posts! Go with how much you want to spend.

The HT has the vastly superior looking helmet and mask and body suit. But looks stumpy.

Sideshows has great looking cape and robe and light up chest box and belt thing. Decent helmet and mask. Body suit looks bad.

The sideshow one has two main drawbacks: body suit is very ill-fitting and the dome seems a tad off. HT one is the one to get....without question.

You can't miss. Both figures are great. I have SS version and i'm more than happy with it.

Having owned both my preference would be for the Hot Toys. Much better helmet and mask, the cape is the best HT have ever produced and the body suit fits very well too.