Novice Head Sculpt Question

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joe

Freakalicious
Reaction score
Alright guys, i know i maybe should have put this in the big questions thread, but ive looked through & cant find an answer.

I'm just starting to give head sculpting a go, but i'm a complete novice & need some help.

I'm using super sculpey. My question is about the neck, how do you get the correct size so it will fit on a hot toys, sideshow etc body?
Do i have to buy a ht neck joint and then sculpt around that with sculpey?
Ive started a head, and now realize i need the neck to be the perfecr shape & size to fit on a body. Sorry if this a stupid question but i aint got a clue about this at the moment. cheers guys, joe.

Please, somebody must know the answer? I just need to know how to get the correct size neck in sculpey so it fits on a ht truetype. then i'll blow you all away with my sculpting skills! (hopefully) seriously though, if anyone can help, let me know, i'm planning on making some horror/eurocult characters nobody has done yet. cheers guys.

There are a few options I can think of, and part of it depends on what kind of joint you are connecting to.

If you are doing a fully sculpted neck:
1) Take the neck from an extra head (if you are a customizer you probably have a few sitting around) cut off the head and build the sculpt around that neck.

2) (I do this) Roll a tube shaped piece of sculpey... then stick that flush onto a spare head. Get the correct shape/size by matching the tube to the neck. Once you have a good shape then take that and bake it. Once baked sculpt the remainder of the head around it. You won't make a head that will just fit on a body... all will eventually require dremmeling to get them to fit, and glue to hold in place.

If you are just doing a head to fit on top of a neck: