Need help with a wireless router!

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blood Electricity

Super Freak
Reaction score
Hey,
I just inherited a used linksys wireless router wrt54g v.6 and I can't get the damned thing to connect to the internet.
I've done the whole reseting/unplugging the router, the modem, changing around the cords to make sure they all work thing. There is nothing wrong with my modem or internet service and I know all the cords are working. I basically have an old hardwire linksys router that works like a charm with all the same equipment. Basically I just got it so I can plug my PC directly in and my girlfriend can walk around the apartment with her phone and laptop.

From what I can gather, it is generating an invalid ip address that starts in like 169.. and that is why it has 'limited or no connectivity'

This is my first time working with a wireless router...Does anyone have more experience with this?

souds like you need to adjust the settings to the router itself. do you have the paperwork? if so it should give you a web address/url that should take you to the linksys web page dedicated to that particular router. from there you can do a lot of things like trouble shooting & securing the router...... naming your router & setting a password for it thus letting your gf or whoever you want to have access to it. theres a lot more things you can do with it but if you can get to the url its easy enough to follow and more than likely get you up and running.