Is there a way to tell if a Hot Toys has been displayed?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scohrdarkshadow

Freakalicious
Reaction score
I'm completely new to HT, but is there any way to tell (ie plastic wrap, stickers, electronic tabs etc)?
I noticed the dx12 has plastic over the heads and the dx07 seems to have plastic around the feet. Is this something that can be taken off and then later put back on?

Thanks for the help

If someone is very careful, you could repackage most HT figures so they look unopened. The hardest thing for. . .liars I guess, would be the areas where the box is taped. Once you take those off, or slice them, it would be hard to reattach them without it being noticeable. Some figures like Hulk have tight plastic wrapping that would be very hard to replace without it being noticeable.

Those Circular tape would give way if they were removed, unless they replaced with new tapes.

The easiest way to tell is if the figure you are looking at is less awesome than it should be.

Once a HT box is opened the first time, some of the awesomeness of the figure gets out. As is the case with the 'first unboxing' experience.

If the figure you are seeing only looks about 85-90% awesome then you know it is not MINT.

:duff

Yeah you have to be carefull especially on eBay as people advertise as new because they think a collectible can't be classesd as second hand.
I recently got a T-1000 and he said new only opened for inspection.
Thought the base had bust on it but the figure was like new and I got it pretty cheap so was not bothered.
But be carefull of the people using stock photos from sideshow site and what not , you want to se the actual item and not a library pic.

Yeah you have to be carefull especially on eBay as people advertise as new because they think a collectible can't be classesd as second hand.