How to spot fakes

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

13RED

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
I have searched I promise, but I couldnt find anything.

I've just spent an hour or so reading up about a guy making recast statues (I work in education and it's the summer hols. Im not a bum I swear) and it got me thinking. I have no idea how to spot a fake collectible. From bust and statues to figures.

Obviously a COA goes a long way, but I wouldn't know what a fake one of those looks like either.

Im starting from the beginning collection wise, and having seen some of your collections, I feel I'm overly eager to spend! I don't want to fall in to the "too good to be true" trap and end up with some badly painted, over priced door stop.

Any tips or things to look out for? I would always try to buy from a legit site, but when it comes to ebay, how do I spot a fake from a bargain?!?!?

Cheers.

i learned a long time ago to purchase from a well known seller on either the boards, ebay or retail online. when you go out of bounds, you're asking for problems. if you're purchasing from a well known or previous seller you've done business with, chances are greatly if not completely in your favor not to buy a forgery.

I buy on eBay all the time, just check the seller's feedback score, no one with a lot of feedback and a 100% score will risk their rep on a fake, and to be honest you can almost always tell from photos if something is an original or not, the recasts always tend to suffer from poor paint app or other issues. I've yet to see a single convincing fake that would fool me.