First attempt at adding hair, beard and re-paint whadda ya think?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShapeShifter

Super Freak
Reaction score
So I had an extra head that came from the hot toys narrow shoulder and though I would attempt to cut off his hair, give him and beard and some new colour to his pale skin, what do you guys think? Be gentle it's my first time and don't mind the ears I melted them off cause my oven right now won't go below 170 so I had to use a toaster oven so lets just say that frost bite was the cause of this poor incident

Here is a quick bash I threw together for now

Last edited:
Looks like it turned out pretty good... if you do it again I'd recommend being a bit more intentional with how you sculpt the hair. I'll a sculpting tool through the hair and then knock it back a bit with some rubbing alcohol to give it a more natural look.

And to blend the edges it helps to really thin out the material so you don't get a sharp line between hair and no hair... and after you've baked the head you can go over everything with a light sanding to smooth it out even further.

Sure... well for painting hair I like to use a 3 layer approach. Start with a dark solid layer of paint over all of the hair... you might have to do two coats. Then dry brush on 2 progressively lighter shades. So for a medium brown I will start with a dark brown color, then two lighter shades of brown to give it a sense of depth.

As for the edges... one thing I'll do (especially on a beard) is after I paint the edge of the hair line, go back over it lightly with the flesh tone I'm using in order to get a subtle transition, if you look at how hair looks in real life it's not a clean break between skin and hair, there's a transition so you want to replicate this in 1/6.