Sideshow, cancellations and the wait list.

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Studio49

Super Freak
Reaction score
Seems like every thread you visit on the freaks board these days has some talk of cancellations and wait list reservations. I have had some very interesting experiences with SS's wait list lately, and I wanted to see if others were experiencing the same thing. If I worked for Sideshow, I think I would be pretty nervous, as it appears that cancellations have sharply increased.

A few days after it got listed as "sold out," I put in a wait list request for the Dinosauria T.rex vs Triceratops diorama. The reservation converted in a couple of days. After reading around the forum and seeing the less than spectacular paint job on the Jurassic Park dio, I freaked out and cancelled. I started feeling stupid about it after the new Dinosauria releases were previewed, so I put my name down again. My wait list converted again within a couple of days.

And it isn't just the Dinosauria pieces that are fast conversions. The Back in Black Spiderman and Han Solo in Carbonite scene both converted for me within a day of reservation.

I guess I may not be familiar with how fast wait list conversions happened in the past, but it seems to me that everything from the Leonidas PF to the GI Joe figs are still pretty much available if you just put your name down. Maybe I am wrong, but I have seen an awful lot of "waitlist converted" celebration around here lately. I am predicting that we will see a large number of second chance offerings within the next few months, though I am very new to Sideshow and this could just be the way things have always been. What are your thoughts?