Lighting Ideas

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FearlessJay

Freakalicious
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to collecting (maybe doing it for a year or two), and even after searching around the forum looking for definitive ideas on proper lighting, I couldn't find much.

So I'm starting this thread for all the Noobs out there (like myself) who aren't sure what kind of lighting we should be using. I know direct sunlight is bad for collectibles as it could bleach the colors. But I just hooked up a couple halogen puck lights in my displays a couple weeks ago, and heard they may be bad too, as the heat may not only wash out colors, but warp my figures.

So, for us Noobs, what types of lighting should we avoid? What types are ideal? And I'm not just talking about presentation, but preserving the quality of your figures/statues.

Any ideas or suggestions are going to be greatly appreciated by myself, and I'm sure many others out there.

Thanks in advance.

P.S.
Sorry to post this in the collection area, but I couldn't find a much better section to ask in.

Hello Fearless,
I'm by no means a lighting expert but I use led lights similar to the halogen pucks. They are fairly bright and produce little to no heat. They last a long time as well. You can see one in the top of the picture below. I think I picked them up at Home Depot.

legenddisplay.jpg

Hello Fearless,
I'm by no means a lighting expert but I use led lights similar to the halogen pucks. They are fairly bright and produce little to no heat. They last a long time as well. You can see one in the top of the picture below. I think I picked them up at Home Depot.

legenddisplay.jpg

I used those on my Detolf and the light is great for them but be sure to use some stronger tape if you do use these as they kept falling on to my statues. :horror