international Gifted Transactions from Seller Questions

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spidey976

Super Freak
Reaction score
Hey guys

So I am showing my newbie here, but I had a couple of questions to ask about gifted transactions.

Firstly, I am Canadian and as I am JUST getting into the hobby I am trying to get a few deals on pieces that either are sold out, which passed me by, or just a great deal via EBay auctions. However, I am dealing with a lot of American sellers who are great, but I will get dinged with taxes and duty every time so I have a few questions.

Now BEFORE any one yells I am NOT talking about sending a PayPal Payment as a GIFT, I have read to many horror stories. What I am asking is there any Benefit/Downside for a SELLER to send a package over the boarder as a "Gifted" transactions as long as they ensure that they get it PROPERLY INSURED?? In the end I guess my main areas of concern are:

1.If the Seller sends it as a gift is there a benefit/risk for the buyer or will it even make a difference with taxed and duty(CANADIANS HELP ME HERE)
2. If the Seller gets proper insurance have they put themselves at risk by sending the parcel as a "gift" if damage occurs???

In the end I am not willing to risk anything on MY behalf or on the SELLERS behalf, but if it isn't risky and it can save me $50 of duty on a $400 then I am all for it.

Help would be appreciated.

Yes the seller can mark full value for insurance purposes and mark the customs for as a "gift"

However, Canada customs states that they can tax you on "gift' shipments if they are over $60.

This leads to some getting through just fine and others you will be still taxed so it's a carp shoot.

If the item is damaged or goes missing you can make a insurance claim since the seller marked it as full value (assuming the seller gets insurance)