How to make a flesh tone with your airbrush? Help Please

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

parallax1987

Freakalicious
Reaction score
Im trying out airbrushing my first piece and I can't figure out how to make a flesh tone that the airbrush will actually spray. I have a Master Airbrush and I made a flesh tone from some acrylic pants and watered it down, but it seemed like the airbrush was clogged or something because nothing would come out. I eventually gave up and put my airbrush cleaner in their and that sprayed out just fine after a few moments. My question is, How do I make a flesh tone for my airbrush? Do I need to mix strictly colors that made specifically for airbrush use? Cause I wouldn't even know where to begin. PLease Help with any advice. Thank you!

My first suggestion... check out Darren Carnall (he's UK based) and his Kirk & Spock tutorial gives a stage by stage look at his brush work.

Second - don't give up! You are starting at the top-end of this art and expecting instant results - again look around at other top artists... I'd suggest Jacob Rahmier's work as unmatchable! He's also on this site and approachable for tips. This will serve to give you an idea of what top class looks like - hopefully it will inspire you (as it has done me).

I started same as you - thinking this was simply a point & click exercise and treated my first heads like they should hurry up and appear. After MANY fails I eventually decided airbrushing was NOT for me and I retreated to brush work - which to me is not labour intensive, but very pain-staking and very time-consuming... a second will coat a surface, but half a day will pass to see it dry! Here's an example of my first attempt at brush work... resizedhead.jpg