Figure Cleaning

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KingCharMing

Super Freak
Reaction score
Sorry I know this is probably in the wrong section, didnt know where else to post this. Being a newb i have no idea how to clean and dust my figures, especially my hot toys The Boss who has a rubber body. I read a few places about compressed air cans but theyre pretty expensive here in Australia. Is there a small air compressor anyone can suggest? Or is there a better way to dust these things off?
Thanks guys!

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

camera-lens-cleaning.jpg

How much does a can of compressed air cost in Australia?

15 dollars or so for a 250ml can from officeworks. They have a cheaper option too (insystem I think) but its a crappy one that frosts very quickly. I don't know where else to find em

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

The rubber Body suppose to be sticky, so even with compressed air it won't remove all the dust.

Best is to have preventive measures like putting it in dust free cabinet or give em a transparent plastic bag cover.

Use microfiber cloth slightly damped.

Dust wont hurt your figures anyway. But, If you can afford the figures you can afford a nice display case to put them in.

Can you suggest a good dust free cabinet to get in Australia? Right now I have them on a set of bookshelves & was thinking of getting a detolf but I'm pretty sure those are such dust collectors. Again, I'm such a noob

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

A Detolf is the way to go my friend. They're extremely nice display cases for the price. I have a few of them and my collectibles get very little dust.

I have a combination of an Expedit-style cabinet with clear acrylic fastened to both open sides to keep dust out; and a couple of clear acrylic boxes on floating shelves:

11_zps03dc8d9c.jpg