Back in the game, and fellow collecting strategies!

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello fellow collectors, after selling off my collection years ago I am back in the game of hot toys collecting as a 31 year old Married Dad, this means I have to be picky with my purchases. So I have come up with a few rules considering I am a teacher in NC, and only have a limited disposable income. Lucky for me I held on to my IKEA lit Detolf so I have a nice display!

So here are my rules:

1. Use sideshow payment plans

2. Unless there is extreme circumstances only have one payment plan in progress per month! (For example I have the Die-Cast Mark 5 set up for payment plans in April, May, and June before the JL Wonder Woman payment plan kicks in this July!)

3. Try to collect my definitive version of the characters! (For example Ledger Joker is my Joker, so despite how awesome a Leto Joker may look I would not buy multiple incarnations of the Joker.)

4. Do try to back catalog, only collect what is available to me in the current market.

5. Only use Sideshow and Big Bad Toy Store, not ebay!

6. No Star Wars Hot Toys, it's too much! LOL

So with all that being said, I would love to hear strategies from fellow Hot Toys collectors who have learned how to collect reasonably!

Thanks, and glad to be back!-Brad

Hello fellow collectors, after selling off my collection years ago I am back in the game of hot toys collecting as a 31 year old Married Dad, this means I have to be picky with my purchases. So I have come up with a few rules considering I am a teacher in NC, and only have a limited disposable income. Lucky for me I held on to my IKEA lit Detolf so I have a nice display!

So here are my rules:

1. Use sideshow payment plans