Advice on What Kind of Paint to Use

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bcreach

Freakalicious
Reaction score
I'm a rookie and I have a custom project I am beginning. What kind of paint should I use on a pair of Odin forearm gauntlets and a dark knight utility belt? And what (if anything) should I apply after I'm finished painting?

Hi bcreach, my suggestion would be to use acrylic paint. Great for painting plastic or resin and when used on p-leather type materials, they retain flexibility. As for what to apply after painting, either nothing, if its not going to get handled much, or for a bit of protection, spray the bits with dullcote or some other hobby varnish, depending on the finish you want e.g. matt/satin/gloss. :)

I, too, use acrylics. They dry quickly, look nice, are very forgiving and it is an easy clean up with just soap and water.

Use tamiya for airbrushing, it's not so good for brush painting, use model master, vallejo, and andrea acrylics for handpainting

I like liquidtex soft body. Really thin easy to mix and work with! When i paint a head i use like 10-30 thin washes for the skin tone and this works perfect!

Interesting. I had hoped to find that at Hobby Lobby, since I live a few blocks from one. I haven't checked the store in person yet, but the online store doesn't show any Soft Body. They only have Heavy Body. What is the main difference between them? Do you think I could dilute, or do something, to Heavy Body to get similar results as yours? Also, how well does it bond to plastic?

Soft body comes in little pots like regular acrylic paint:

liquitex_sb.jpg

While the heavy body comes in tubes and the paint is pretty much like oil paint consistency :

eaae839c-13c1-46ba-83b0-8136a5469cd8.jpg