ACI "Christian" torso mod: Forward bend!

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Convotron

Freaked Out
Reaction score
Hello, everyone!

I'm relatively new to the world of modifying 1/6 scale figures and toys/action figures in general. However, I've modded enough to be able to figure some improvements for figures here and there, often for the purpose of articulation enhancement.

For this post's topic, I'll be sharing how I modify ACI's Christian nude body figure to enable it to have a forward bend at the abdominal joint. I looked around on this forum as well as other 1/6 figure forums for such a mod but couldn't find one. I hope this information is helpful to a fellow owner of an ACI Christian body out there who wishes the torso could bend forward as it should(in my opinion).

The tools I used were a hair dryer, a plastic model nipper(manufactured by Tamiya, it's a high quality product and very sharp and durable), a hand held rotary tool(most use Dremel, I have a Jobmate rotary tool that does the trick), a flat head screw driver and an X-Acto knife.

First, let's take a look at the torso of the Christian body:

m_ACI Christian mod 1.jpg

The yellow oval shows the extent of the torso's forward bend, which is non-existent.

The red oval shows the seam line where the front and back half of the torso shell joins.

The green oval shows an indentation where I used a flat head screw driver to wedge the front and back halves of the torso apart.

Step one of this mod involves using an X-Acto knife to score the seam line, repeatedly, down the sides of the torso. Eventually, you'll get through the glue that ACI used to adhere the two halves of the upper torso together.

You aren't finished yet as there are seam lines to score at the top of the shoulders and sides of the neck as well.