Star Wars Hot Toys Maintenance

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sithdaddy66

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
Hey guys I’m new to this Hot Toys collecting space, I’ve only recently picked up my first two figures. I just wanted to ask the community here the best way for maintaining the longevity of these Star Wars figures so I’m not bining them in a few years time 😅

Throughout what I’m found online it basically mentions the following.

• Keep them in a glass cabinet and dust them of every few months with a soft make up brush or compressed air
  • Keep them out of sunlight
  • Apply conditioner like (303 aerospace protectant) once every 2 months on pleather and rubber parts
  • Wash capes and robes in laundry detergent, rinse and repeat till all the dye is removed. Lay it on a piece of paper towel and use a fan to help with drying
  • Buy a dehumidifier and have the humidity kept between 40-50%
  • Keep room temperature no higher than 30 degrees Celsius
  • Remove all batteries
  • No dynamic poses with figures that have pleather and rubber parts

Lemme know if I’ve missed something or if something is in correct here. In terms of the capes/Jedi robes, if they are not touching the neck face or hands of the figure, would it still need the wash treatment, could the dye transfer onto other cloth or plastic materials. I have the clone wars version of anakin. If I stored the robes away in there boxes, would the dye transfer or destroy anything in the packaging potentially?

With figures with rubber arms like CW Ashoka, would you apply the conditioner on to her arms?

In terms of figures like qui gon jin who have that tan soft fabric outfit that doesn’t look removable, would the dye transfer over onto his hands and neck?

Thanks for patiently reading through and I apologise in advance if others have asked similar questions cheers 🙏🏾