EBay...am I about to get scammed...as the seller!?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Darthrazz

Super Freak
CF Supporter
Reaction score
I sold something on EBay , starting bid was $45.00. The buyer just sent me this message:

"Im brand new to Ebay and have been trying to retract my bid for several days. I just understand that it is probably too late now, but the process was so confusing and frustrating and I can t seem to get eBay to help me in any way. I meant to bid 4.50 to start with- I know this is low but it was going to be my first bid ever. Is there any way I can cancel my order?"

I never checked on the bidder, ( my bad) but noticed after the auction they had zero feedback . The person who contacted me has a different Ebay Id than the person who won the bid, they also have zero feedback.

Starting bid was $45.00 , so no way they could bid $4.50

What do I do here? I have a feeling I'm about to get scammed. This is why I hate Ebay!!!

I'd say:
(1) Ignore the zero feedback person who PM'd. Whether it's the same person who placed the bid or not doesn't matter; they didn't PM you from bidding eBay account. Best not to inquire about it in case they are trying to scam you.
(2) If the bidder doesn't pay in two days, file a non-payment claim so Ebay doesn't charge you listing and final value fees.

Last edited:
I'd say:
(1) Ignore the zero feedback person who PM'd. Whether it's the same person who placed the bid or not doesn't matter; they didn't PM you from bidding eBay account. Best not to inquire about it in case they are trying to scam you.
(2) If the bidder don't pay in two days, file a non-payment claim so Ebay doesn't charge you listing and final value fees.