My First Attempt at building a Lit Lightsaber (6 pics)

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Duckgoo

Super Freak
Reaction score
After seeing a lot of cool pics on folks making their own lit lightsabers, I decided to try to build one too.

THis is my first attempt and I am not very satisfied with it. The hilt is from Hasbro, I didn't want to destroy the SS or Medicom ones. The light source is from EL wire. The figure is a Medicom Darth Vader.

THERE IS NO PHOTOSHOPPING IN THESE PICS!!

darth1.jpg

darth2.jpg

darth3.jpg

darth4.jpg

darth5.jpg

darth6.jpg

As you guys can see, there is no reason why Sideshow can't produce their own line of light-up sabers. I would definitely purchase them if they were offered as separate accessories like the probe droids.

Duckgoo, it looks great. Did you use a clear endcap on the tip? Clear endcaps are great for equal brightness at the tip of the blade. Are you using high brightness or regular EL wire?

Yeah, I guess it would be nicer if it were brighter, but it still looks cool!
I might have to try this one day...
Anakin's saber is huge, that should make it easier to work with.

I have only been able to make the blades since I don't own any Hasbro hilts to play around with :(

Off-topic but I like your username.

Hey everyone! It's ....... Duckgoo!

I used regular EL wire which I feel was not bright enough. I also couldn't figure out how to tip the saber. Where do I get these endcaps? Any links or pics?

Also, the wire between the hilt and the power box is very short. I can't move the sword arm without exposing the power box. The box is clipped into the back of the stand and hidden by Vader's robes.

I will try again with Cathode tubes in a few days, which I hope will yield better results.