How to show off your Terminator/Alien collection.

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DJDD

Freakalicious
Reaction score
I've started to build up my collection of Terminator and Alien collectibles but then I thought. Where the **** am I going to put them? I mean I've seen some of the setups some of you have around here and, well, I'm not impressed hah (no offense).
I'm thinking of trying to theme the glass coffin I put these collectables into.
Problem is I have little experience in lighting etc.

I thought maybe we could all get together some advice and ideas on the best themes for the Terminator and Alien series.

Terminator Series Theme
I'm thinking something like the Cyberdyne Vault in Terminator 2. Cold and blue.
021007endoarm_01.jpg

Alien Series Theme
A theme from the Aliens colony corridors would be sick. I did in fact see that a couple of people had gone and bought some fish tack floor filters that look a lot like the metal grid walkways.

Any ideas on how we could go about this sort of stuff? Any people with experience with lighting and staging able to pitch in on properly lighting a glass cabinet?

Guess it was me who started the whole fish-tank thing. :)

Something I noticed from the Terminator and ALIENS movies was the blue tint in both movies. For example, look at the "future-war" scenes in Terminator, and you will see that there's a blue tint. Also, most scenes in aliens also have that tint. I think it's sort of a James Cameron trademark.

So... I recommend using blue-LEDs. Some "white"-LEDs are also so bright that they give off a light blue shade. You can also look into that.
I find that the cheapest way is to get some puck-lights. (the ones people use to light shelves/ drawers/ and walkways)

Here are some pictures of the LED's in action.
Hope this helps.

Blue LEDs:
Pix016.jpg

Pix012.jpg

Aliensdiorama016.jpg