Collectible care?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

laudel7

Super Freak
Reaction score
As I am new to collecting, I am just wondering how I should look after my collectibles. i.e dusting cleaning etc.

I have hot toys in a detlof but dust still gets in the gaps etc, Just wondering what I should do and how often, or what some of you guys already do.

canned air is your friend along with portable air filters.

Why what happens? Where can you get the cans of air?
Thanks for all your comments so far :D

For fun, turn the can upsidedown and then spray it on your skin for about 20 seconds . . .

I use a small car detailing brush to dust my figures.

Well my room doesn't get dusty. Prolly every 6 months or so i brush em off if they need it or not.

Rull of thumb, just like cars, keep them clean and they are easier to clean.

Good point man :D , I am starting to freak out lately about sunlight and dust lately, is it really that bad for dust or sunlight to be anywhere near your figures?
Or am I being silly?

Good point man :D , I am starting to freak out lately about sunlight and dust lately, is it really that bad for dust or sunlight to be anywhere near your figures?
Or am I being silly?

Are you serious? Sunlight is very damaging. DIRECT SUNLIGHT is a death sentence for your figures. Indirect sunlight is ok. Think about it, UV rays are radiation. :google Prolonged sunlight will fade color and ruin plastic. As for cleaning just use common sense. No harsh chemicals like spray cleaners at all. A light soft brush and gentle blasts of canned air should be enough to remove dust. As for how often depends on how dusty an environment you live in. HTH

Last edited: