Anyone with a Form2 printer ever printed hands?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SwedishHeat

Super Freak
Reaction score
We just got a printer at my office, and the tech team was bragging about how they could print in a flexible resin, I was looking at the Form2 website and their flexible resin looks pretty darn flexible.

I had the idea that I could print out gloved hands.

I'd tried casting hands before in a flexible resin (one of Smooth-On's offerings) and it would still crack and break off.

I have no sculpting experience, but if something like this was possible, I'd love to give it a try.

I have a Form 2, it works great but I've never used the flexible resin so I don't know how it compares to the hands you get with figures. If you want them on pegs then you'll need to do some tests to see how big the peg holes end up being. Just due to the nature of how it prints a hole will often be a bit smaller than you design.
Durable resin might be best for a figure hands though, compared to the flexible resin I'm not sure that flexible is designed to work well with something thin like fingers.

Okay, cool, so do you do the sculpting yourself? What program do you use?

The guy I used to work with used Zbrush, the folks at work use Modo. Is there any difference between the two?

I use 3ds Max, but I'm a 3D artist so I use it because it's what I know how to use.
3ds Max isn't for sculpting though. Most people use Zbrush, but it's a very advanced program and is more than what you need, it's also got a very awkward workflow to get used to. Modo is a general 3D software, it can do sculpting but it's not made specifically for that purpose. You may want to look into Sculptris, which is free and owned by the company that makes Zbrush, and it should be easier to work with as a beginner.