Premium Format 1/4 Scale vs 1/6 Scale Action Figure

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mharless

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
I am new to collecting PF and I am fighting by own collection addiction. I want to buy everything. I am curious though. I only have PF items, but have thought about switching to the 1/6 scale figures. I know you save money and loose the size. Gain the ability to pose them. Thoughts? Why PF over 1/6 scale? Why 1/6 scale over PF? If 1/6 scale what do you prefer between Sideshow and Hot Toys?

I have considered narrowing my collection to only Star Wars and then only Vader. Maybe collect everything from PF, Legendary Scale, and Busts. Limit it to that on only that character. Keeps me from buying everything thing that tickles my fancy.

I have been putting my PF items in custom display cases I buy and they look like art in a museum when people visit. Not sure the 1/6 scale would have that appeal.

Sometimes the 1/4 scale are 2 to 3 times the cost of the 1/6. Is it worth dropping down to the 1/6 scale? Are they as good as detail?

In the Star Wars realm the Imperial characters in PF form are quite bad looking. Not just inaccurate but with weird poses: Snowtrooper (weird pose, thin body), Stormtrooper (weird pose, short back leg), Scout (pooping in the woods), Sandtrooper (underfed, bland pose). The HT 1/6 versions are much better.

How are the Sideshow 1/6 scale? Should I just stick to HT 1/6 scale or Sideshow 1/6 scale?

Buy whatever moves you.

That can be a $22 action figure or a $300 action figure or a $50 statue or a $500 statue.

I can get as much pleasure posing a $22 figure as I can looking at a museum piece statue.

Last edited: