eBay buyers - idiots?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maglor

Super Freak
Reaction score
I'm new to selling on eBay and I'm encountering something I didn't expect. I have an item for sale as an auction that is getting a lot of views. It's a week-long auction, and during the week I've received these two messages:

So I would really like to have your figure. What are you looking to get for it?

Hi there,

How much you want for this figure ? I live in _________, so shipping shouldn't be too bad. Thanks

Do these people not understand the concept of an auction? WTF?!

I've been buying on eBay for years and never once sent a seller a question like this. Am I the only one that finds this annoying?! :banghead

No you are not. I've gotten questions like this as well, and it is really annoying because some people think i'll just take my auction down and sell to them directly... Which is insane to do, because you will not have the seller protection, no matter how slim it is, that ebay can offer.

I think it is now more that some buyers think they can just have which any way they want it...and just like Maglor I've never asked a seller something like this...nor would I ever.

So, yes there are a decent amount of idiots out there that think they can do whatever. Exactly why they think they can do this..I still have yet to figure out :dunno

eBay is such a crapshoot now. My biggest issue with selling on there is people trying to scam by saying things are damaged or missing. I've had a couple of people say pieces are missing (SSC Exclusive pieces in both cases) and report to it eBay that the item wasn't as described and of course eBay sides with them even though I have photo evidence that everything was there.

Then there was the guy who said that a box was dented even though it listed it as such on the auction description. eBay sided with him too.