Painting lips on Male Headsculpts?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joebiwan

Freaked Out
Reaction score
Hi - all. I have a major problem painting lips/mouths on male headsculpts. Every time I try it ends up looking to thick and dark and even often like lipstick. What COLOR is best recommended for lips on male figures. I can't for the life of me ever get it right. Also what is the best technique for blending it so it gradually fades to the skin under and about the lips and not just a sharp line of paint (again looking like lipstick)? Any help would be so appreciated!!

I'm not an expert but I water down red paint and wash it on the lips. It usually comes out to my liking.

I use a watered down mixture of red, blue, and white with maybe a touch a black. Then adjust the proportions to get the color I want.

Hmmm...well this explains it then. I have been using shades of pink and it just doesn't look good. Thanks guys! I will definitely try these suggestions!!!

I udo a base coat of flesh and do all my shading with ground up chalk pastels. I mix red and brown chalk and brush it on then dull cote it. Good colour no sharp lines.

Same as thainer, I apply a bit of red and orange (chalk pastel) then you use a bit of water to spread the paint. The good thing about pastel is you can always fix it or make the tones more lighter with a bit of water.

Hmmm...well this explains it then. I have been using shades of pink and it just doesn't look good. Thanks guys! I will definitely try these suggestions!!!

Yeah, I fell for that too. Turns out that lips are a mix of red and grey (not white).