Reconsidering how I order stuff

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mesa

Super Freak
Reaction score
Tonight I've done something that I've never done before....

I cancelled a SS HT Preorder and ordered from an online retailer. Actually, it was two figures, IM MK IV and War Machine. Going to end up saving me about $40.

And I couldn't even order from my local SS distributor, because the 9% tax kills any savings I would have by ordering through a distributor. We're talking almost $30 in tax on two figures.

As the more expensive these figures get, I have to do what I can to save on $$$.

I don't mean to take away from Sideshow's awesome customer service or no penalty cancellation and easy return policy, the reward point system, they have always done me very well in the past. But I'm beginning to utilize some of the other options that I have if it will save me $20+ a figure.

What is everyone else doing?

I've been doing the same thing for a while now. More and more, I don't even bother pre-ordering from Sideshow and I just get what I want from a retailer or ebay for cheaper.

The economy hasn't improved from where I'm sitting and Sideshow's prices keep climbing, so I'm doing whatever I can to support my habit without breaking the bank.

I usually buy HT figures from online retailers and have not had any problems. Places like Alter Ego and Big Bad Toy Store have excellent customer service and I totally trust them.

I order exclusive statues through Sideshow and if a Hot Toys exclusive figure like the Guardian Predator or one that comes with a really cool extra accessory like the Predator 1 comes out, I'll go with Sideshow for those as well.