Artist proof confusion

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Freak_Zombie

Super Freak
Reaction score
Hi, my bad if I posted this in the wrong section, but I was wondering are artists proof pieces that bad? Cause I did a search in this and another forum and some are of the opinion that an artist proof is valued less because there is no number underneath the statue/bust?

Cause I just bought an artist proof piece and while I didn't pay a single cent extra I'd be disappointed if its worth much less because there is no run number.

Pardon my ignorance, I'm still a noob at collecting statues and the only reason I pick the piece up was cause it was the only one available and it just so happened to be an artist proof piece. Although I would probably never sell it cause I love it so, it would be nice to know that it isn't worth less I guess. :)

Appreciate the input!

some APs from companies are just leftover's out side of the edition in case of breakages, then sold to collectors for aftermarket prices :rolleyes2

Hmmm any idea when it comes to palisades products? Haven't really answered my question though.

If one had to choose between an AP product and a normal run number, which would be the advisable choice? Just in case I run into a similar position in the future. (Lets say I was able to get both at the same price)

Hmmm any idea when it comes to palisades products? Haven't really answered my question though.

If one had to choose between an AP product and a normal run number, which would be the advisable choice? Just in case I run into a similar position in the future. (Lets say I was able to get both at the same price)

As far as i know the AP's for Palisades had better paint apps for they were shown at toy conventions and used for photo shoots.These are more likely to have damage as they were handled alot more.