Does anyone do ANIMATION as their career?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrisCJ99

Super Freak
CF Supporter
Reaction score
So I just wanted to reach out and get some opinions on a possible degree change in my studies.... I'm currently studying "Web Design and New Media" at the Academy of Art University in San Francisco. I'm in my third semester and I'm really starting to lose confidence in the program.... I feel like I'm being put into these "design" classes and told to make ads, but not really being prepared with the appropriate knowledge before I'm put into these design classes....

To sum it up, I'm pursuing my second bachelors degree (my first was in Advertising) Here at the school they have a SECOND BACHELORS program, which is basically just cutting away all the BS classes (history, math, english, etc) and I just focus on the CORE classes (photoshop, flash, etc) But the ONLY design course I had was a concept class that just touched vaguely on some design concepts.... I'm now in a design class to make print media. The teacher informs us that we should be familiar with lots of typefaces (fonts) and colors, and ad layouts by now..... Like we're seniors or something. :confused:
In the curriculum I'm not even scheduled to have typography until my LAST semester....... :confused: i dunno, I just feel like this is a "RUSHED" way of cramming a TON of different aspects of Media into your skull in two years. (Photography, Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash, Logic Pro, Print Media, Magazine layouts, After Effects, Web Layout, Web Design) Now their philosophy is to make the student "more marketable" and more likely to get hired since they have a "broader knowledge" of all these different medias....