State of the Star Wars Sideshow backlash?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

icruise

Super Freak
Reaction score
I'm new to Sideshow 1/6 scale figures, but when I recently found out about them, I knew that I had to start collecting them. In the last month or so, I've managed to pick up almost all of the Star Wars line (with the exception of the Endor troopers and the EU figures) and I've started on the Lord of the Rings. I love them.

Anyway, in an effort to educate myself, I've been reading some of the older threads on the board and I came across this one. It's from last March, back before Sideshow had actually released any of their figures, and the gist of the thread was that some Star Wars fans were upset about the way Sideshow was going to be handling the line, largely because of the price of the figures and because they were limited edition. Not being very in touch with the SW collector scene, I was wondering if this feeling is still present.

Also, a number of people in the thread mentioned how only a few thousand of a figure wouldn't be nearly enough to meet demand, and implied that only the most dedicated or richest of collectors might be able to get them all. My own experience has been that it really isn't difficult at all to get Sideshow Star Wars figures on the secondary market (the exclusive versions are a little trickier, admittedly). I picked up all of my figures with two exceptions for less than retail -- sometimes a lot less. (The exceptions were Jedi Luke, which I got for $70, and Obi-wan, which I paid retail for.) Do you think that the figures are less popular than some people predicted? If so, why?