Is this EVER going to happen?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mandible

Super Freak
Reaction score
I've been collecting for 40 years and one thing that does my head in about a current trend of collecting is - teasing items they never release.

Why? Why the **** Hot Toys (as an example) would you show us the Death Star Trooper, almost 2 years ago (a fairly simple figure to produce, one would imagine), and not release it? Sideshow teased a 1/6 Landspeeder; Jabba's band, etc, etc, etc (albeit, never showed a prototype - but still announced it).

I don't know about anyone else, but this way of doing things doesn't inspire "good will" or "get more excited about the potential" - it just pisses me off... plain and simple. Don't say/show anything at all, if it isn't going to happen.

Anyone have any clue whatsoever, as to their marketing strategy?

Dude, take a breath. XD They aren't doing it just because they get their kicks out of giving you blueballs.

There are SO MANY different factors that can lead to a figure not reaching production. Consumer interest, licensing issues, production/materials issues, lack of acceptable profit margins, etc.

It's just how it goes. Yeah, it sucks to see a figure you want teased and not get made, but it's part of the business.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Unfortunately, plans change. Resources are limited so they have to be selective about which figures get made. They may also find, once revealed, that a figure doesn't have enough demand to warrant mass production.

It is what it is. Sideshow said the Max Rebo band was coming 7 years ago or so and the McQuarrie Vader was some time ago as well.

I still want max rebo & company.............but I was the most excited for the maquarrie figures in 1/6th more so than any other figures in a while.