Wiring Hot Toys Iron Men to external battery box (Pic heavy)

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr_Isamu

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I thought I would share my latest project. Everyone has issues with leaking batteries and battery life on their iron men and I have always wondered about the SOAP reactors but was put off by the price. While I am not skilled with electronics in any way I though I would see what I could come up with. I did some tests using external AA batteries and found that 3 AA batteries WILL BLOW the LED. This is because button batteries have an internal resistance which limits initial output to 1.5V but big batteries do not. I could probably find a current limiting resistor to do this but like I said I am new to all this. Testing with 2 batteries gives less light but theres no chance of blowing the LED as far as I could see (Try it at your own risk !). The wooden pieces are dowels the size of the batteries which I cut down to the right size and took off one side to make place for soldering the wires to. I use thumb tacks as contact points that I have cut down to glue to the dowel because its much easier to glue to the dowel than a flat piece of brass with the pin keeping it in place. I have wired up the workshop Tony Stark chest reactor in this way and the LED has been burning for 3 weeks ! Later I will wire the boxes up to an external adapter. I hope you guys find some inspiration and if I can improve this please let me know !

Custom1.jpg

Custom2.jpg

Custom3.jpg

Custom4.jpg

Custom5.jpg

Custom6.jpg

Custom7.jpg

Custom8.jpg

I got a Soap Reactor. Plugs in. Turns on all 1/4 scale IM lights AND 8 LED spotlights with the flick of the wrist. Sometimes they all stay on for days at a time and never have to replace batteries.