Spike in SSC Prices in market?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bkc6j

Freaked Out
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm new to collecting and had a question that I am hoping those more experienced could answer or share their thoughts. Also hope this is the right forum for this type of thread.

I started getting into buying SSC (mostly Premium Format) pieces in the last 3 weeks. I usually try and do a lot of searching on past sold items on ebay to get an idea of what a good price is for a particular piece before bidding. I've also gone back through old threads on the For Sale board for learning purposes.

I've generally noticed for almost every SSC piece I am interested in that prices seem to have spiked recently. Even in say the last two months. There are quite a few times on ebay where Feb and early March prices for most pieces are significantly lower than prices in late April and May.

Is this a seasonal thing? A temporary spike? Do people think SSC prices are on the move up? Wonder if I should be holding off if this is temporary for some reason. Any insight would be appreciated by this newbie!

PS: I know there are always a few $250 USD pieces that we all wish we had bought tons of at release. I'm not talking about that. Just talking about market prices on the move up (seemingly) for most older pieces.

You have to ask yourself why stuff doesn't seem to sell out like it used to. Coincidence? I think not.

As Sideshow increases the price on new items I suppose people are willing to pay more for the older stuff.
Chances are the older stuff is better quality as well.

Are you searching completed listings? Some Buy It Now items with stupid prices will never sell.

You have to ask yourself why stuff doesn't seem to sell out like it used to. Coincidence? I think not.