Stains! How much do they matter to you?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

melkorjunior

Super Freak
Reaction score
So, I'm pretty new to this sixth-scale figure thing. I dabbled a long time ago on 40-dollar Sideshow figures, but now I'm in the big leagues with Hot Toys figures that are costing me $200+ apiece and my OCD--is there a collector out there who doesn't have OCD to some degree? --is kicking in. I bought a Hot Toys Alice on ebay and the body is badly stained on the rubber parts --so much black and blue you'd think she was in a bar fight the night before. Her outfit covers the stains, but I hate the fact that the stains are there at all. I tried non-acetone nail polish remover which has faded the stains considerably, but they're still there. I might go the benzoyl peroxide route.

But it occurs to me that it makes no logical sense to care if the unseen body parts of an action figure are stained. After all, even if the body wasn't stained, it still has visible joints, it still has ball jointed elbows and feet, it still has that rubberized portion laid on top to better simulate female anatomy--these are all just as unsightly without clothes covering them as stains would be. So should I just relax about stains and not care? After all, over time, who knows how many of my Hot Toys figures are developing stains on the bodies that I'll never see? How far should I obsess over the parts of my 1/6 action figures that the manufacturers never meant to be seen?

I'd say relax :duff

If it's not visible I'm not worried about it... HT has recently taken steps to prevent staining on bodies (the new Wolverine is a good example) but unfortunately it's just an issue that happens from time to time. Usually black dyes seem to be the culprit, but I've seen other colors as well.