IT HURTS (dealing with not getting the one you want)

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blasterkid

Freaked Out
Reaction score
First world problems I know...but as collectors and completests...the pain and frustration of missing out on a piece you wanted, not being able to afford it, or not having the space sucks!

I am really only getting into the hobby. I have kind of an interesting background. I am a comic artist (Richard Friend), I worked at Wildstorm for basically my entire career and that slowly morphed into DC comics. The first person who I ever knew who had VERY cool maquettes in his house was none other than J Scott Campbell. (Gwen Stacy, Mary Jane, Spider Man line for sideshow now) I was originally hired to work on Gen 13 with Jeff...since then I've done a lot of different things..

The one hobby and collectible I'd never pulled the trigger on (but knew one day I would) was Statues. I got my first one which was a really nice Cloud Final Fantasy cycle piece in about 1998 or so....it was literally the only one I had besides a few Wild Cats character ones I picked up along the way.

I finally got into really collecting the Sideshow stuff about 2 years back. I saw the Dark Knight and Poison Ivy pieces and was like..."OH MY GOD. I have to have these" I pre-ordered the exclusives and got them a short while back....here's where the addiction started...and trust me...I KNOW I don't have it nearly as bad as other guys here....but it's only because of a lack of spare funds and space!!

I just ordered the Batman and Robin 1966 Hot Toys...and then last night ordered a Gwen Stacy....but I am watching this SNOWBALL and fast

I don't even have these last 3 here and I am like "I want this one, and that one...ah crap that one is sold out...that one is 3 times the original price...that one is a pre-order and is 3 feet tall and costs 2.5 grand!!!!)