New Collector

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Collector95

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm new to Star Wars collecting and honestly don't know where to start. I've been a fan of Star Wars since I was probably around 7 (I'm 18 now), and didn't know about any collectibles until now. At this point of time, I've come to realise that so much things have sold out (premium formats and master replica light sabers and blasters). The second hand market is as you all know very highly priced for the mentioned items. The thing here is if I were to get any Star Wars collectibles, it'd have to be the premium format figures, mythos figures, and master replica props. Where do I begin looking for an affordable starting point, and what items do I buy first?

Welcome to the boards! A great place to look for items to add to your new collection is in the commerce section. Buying and selling between collectors, in my experience, is quite a bit better than ebay. I believe you have to be a "premium" member to access the commerce section of this site, which IMO is a small price to pay for some of the great items you should be able to find for decent prices. Best of luck.

Your best chance at affordable is to buy items that are still available from Sideshow, etc. The second hand market is usually quite a bit more. What I would do is search Sideshow's site and see what is till available and get a list going of what you want, in order of most wanted to least wanted. Once you're done with the stuff currently available from Sideshow, bidbadtoystore, or one of the other companies, you can start going after the older stuff, because it's not going to get any cheaper in the meantime. In searching for the older stuff look at the commerce boards here and on https://www.statueforum.com and see if you find something that's not a total rip-off.