PDA

View Full Version : What Are Custom Figures??

frankie086
11-13-2013, 02:03 PM
Hey :wave I am new to collecting figures busts ect, I have only just found out about custom work & seen some great pieces but i just wanted some help with understanding what goes on. Do you buy heads, clothes hands ect from people on forum and then put them on a plain action figure yourself. I ask this as I'm interested in few figures such as dexter,pennywise, beetlejuice

karamazov80
11-13-2013, 02:04 PM
Sometimes yes, and sometimes no. Some will pay others to put figures together for them. Some will pay others for full, already put together figures. Some will put their own figures together using existing parts.

elar
11-13-2013, 04:02 PM
And some make all parts (without body, almost everybody buying bodies) by himself. Clothes, heads, accessories,...

robbiethepainter
11-13-2013, 05:15 PM
Beware that the custom market can get really expensive. Getting a customizer to build a single figure for you can make the price even higher. Distributing the cost over several buyers is how most make the figures affordable.
Of course there are exceptions but being new, I didnt want you to have massive shock when contacting some of the customizers here.

Godfather1408
11-14-2013, 02:17 AM
Beware that the custom market can get really expensive. Getting a customizer to build a single figure for you can make the price even higher. Distributing the cost over several buyers is how most make the figures affordable.
Of course there are exceptions but being new, I didnt want you to have massive shock when contacting some of the customizers here.

Agreed I've spent well over £3,000 this year on custom pieces :/