How are the Classic Sideshow Monsters?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rockabilly

Super Freak
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to collecting Sideshow and 12" stuff, but I'm really getting sucked in quick. I'm wanting to expand my horror collection with some of the earlier universal classics releases from Sideshow as well as the modern horror stuff. I know the modern horror stuff seems to be great, but what about the Universal Monsters, how's the quality on them? These were made fairly early in Sideshow's making 12" figures right? I'd like to know whatever you guys can tell me about 'em, articulation, quality of clothing, sculpting, paint, and whatever else I need to know.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I own the Silver Screen Edition of The Phantom of the Opera, Frankenstein's Monster, and the Invisible Man. Gotta say I like them all. I really wanna get Boris Karloff as the Mummy but have had a hard time finding one.

It depends on which ones you are intewrested in. Like SW, some are great, some need work. For perfect out of the box, see Creature from the Black Lagoon ($$$), Phantom as the Red Death, Phantom, Son of Frankenstein, Bride of Frank, Larry Talbot, and Renfield.

Dracula ($$) is pretty good, but needs adjustment and a repaint.

Like so:

p9250003qo1.jpg

You can also look into the Silver Scren figures, like Drac, Vampyre, Phantom, and London After Midnight, all quality.

Freddie_Freeloader said:
I own the Silver Screen Edition of The Phantom of the Opera, Frankenstein's Monster, and the Invisible Man. Gotta say I like them all. I really wanna get Boris Karloff as the Mummy but have had a hard time finding one.

Oh, I forgot about the Invisible Man! I don;t own one, but it looks like a great figure, along with Werewolf of London.