What to do when family is criticizing your collecting hobby?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PwnStar511

Super Freak
Reaction score
Lately, my mom and brothers have been getting on my case about my collection.

I'm fairly new to this hobby (I started about a year and a half ago) when I picked up my first collectible (Hot Toys Berserker Predator) on impulse at a comic shop. I don't normally treat myself to anything but at the time I thought it was amazing and I always loved Predators so I just said screw it and bought it. After opening it and seeing first hand how incredible it was, I guess you could say the Hot Toys/collecting bug bit me. I slowly accumulated more and expanded to NECA/Bandai products.

Now I currently have a sizable collection displayed in my room. I absolutely love it and enjoy everything I have, but my family members think less of it...

My mom specifically thinks I'm wasting money when I should be saving that money to move out. And that's exactly what I have been doing since graduating college. I've saved up a ton of money, I have a retirement account, and would consider myself financially responsible. I think I've spent around $5,000 on collectibles since I started.

I do agree that money would be useful for contributing to me buying a house, but I also believe you should spend money on that which makes you happy; which this hobby certainly does. In addition to money, my mom thinks I'm becoming more childish with these toys instead of going out and being more social. I admit I'm not the most sociable guy but I definitely do have a social life and go out when I can. Since it's winter now, I go out a lot less. She also thinks no girls will like me once they see my collection.

Basically her words have been putting me down and kinda make me want to stop collecting...

Anyone can share their thoughts on this matter?