Any good tips for drybrushing?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hunterelf

Super Freak
Reaction score
hi guys, i'm thinking of getting a airbrush from china and i'm completely new to this equipment. my question is, are there any good websites or tutorials for using drybrush, like what paint can i use, how to control the flow etc.

EDIT !!!
typo, i mean airbrush !!!

Last edited:
if you an actual tutorial, go to youtube and search for drybrushing, I customize Transformers figures so I am well experienced on this, I mainly use Enamel paints for drybrushing, also its great for detailing. I used Model Master Acrylics for airbrushing, you can use them on drybrushing as well, Testors is a good brand. You might want to try also Vallejo Acrylics or Games Workshop paints. Hope this helps.

:exactly: Here's a nice short one, but there are a ton of various techniques for various applications.

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lcIYkCz-Dco[/ame]

:exactly: Here's a nice short one, but there are a ton of various techniques for various applications.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lcIYkCz-Dco

This method/way of drybrushing is typically used in scale-modelling, on a hard surface like plastic/resin, and stuff like that, and if you do it correctly, you will hardly see it, unless you are closeby. Dry-brushing on cloth/clothes is different, you must leave some paint on the brush...well, more paint then the guy on this vid does!

if you an actual tutorial, go to youtube and search for drybrushing, I customize Transformers figures so I am well experienced on this, I mainly use Enamel paints for drybrushing, also its great for detailing......

Enamel paints on for instance Jason headsculpts from sideshow is not a good idea, since the paint will not fully dry!